wax Poetics

Nauti-Cal: Funky Yacht Rock & AOR Mixtape by Shawn Lee

Nauti-Cal: Funky Yacht Rock & AOR Mixtape by Shawn Lee

published online
By Wax Poetics

Nauti-Cal: Funky Yacht Rock & AOR Mixtape by Shawn Lee

    Impose magazine recently premiered our mixtape by Shawn Lee of Young Gun Silver Fox called Nauti-Cal. YGSF’s new album, West End Coast, is available now on Wax Poetics Records.


    Impose‘s Meredith Schneider wrote:

    Young Gun Silver Fox — comprised of multi-instrumentalist producer Shawn Lee (AM & Shawn Lee and Shawn Lee’s Ping Pong Orchestra) and U.K. singer-songwriter Andy Platts (Mamas Gun) — have created quite the ruckus around their west coast pop/rock sound. Their debut album West End Coast dropped in the U.S. on July 15th to outstanding reviews, and the guys want to keep the musical inspiration going with a mixtape, premiering now exclusively for IMPOSE readers’ ears.

    Shawn Lee has curated a mixtape called Nauti-Cal: Funky Yacht Rock & AOR, and it is an ever-perfect tribute to the waning days of this gorgeously hot summer. It’s got some pretty gnarly tracks on it, which just emphasizes Lee’s impeccable taste further. It’s a throwback that’s making us happier than clams, and it’s definitely a must-have as we transition into autumn.

    Says Lee of the playlist, “The late ’70s were a special time. Analog recording was at its HIFI apex. West Coast pop music of the day was sophisticated, crafted, and, well, pretty darn marvelous! I’ve made a mix of the classics—deep cuts and fine examples of an era of music that I loved growing up and that inspired me in making the Young Gun Silver Fox album, West End Coast. AOR, West Coast, yacht rock, city pop—whatever you wanna call it… It’s smooth as hell and makes me smile.”

     Mixtape Tracklisting
    1. "You Win I Lose"- Hal Bradbury
    2. "Pretend He’s Me" – Robert Byrne
    3. "Somethings are Better Unsaid"- Player
    4. "The Saliors Song"- Pages
    5. "House on the Rock" – Rob Mehl
    6. "People Gotta Move" – Gino Vanelli
    7. "Whatcha Gonna Do"- Pablo Cruise
    8. "Nightfly" - Donald Fagen
    9. "Steal Away" - Robbie Dupree
    10. "Lihue" - Nohelani Cypriano
    11. "Much Higher" - Gary Wright
    12. "Jojo" – Boz Scaggs
    13. "Phantom of the Footlights" - The Larsen Feiten Band
    14. "I Wouldn’t Want to Be Like You" - The Alan Parsons Project
    15. "You Belong to Me" - The Doobie Brothers
    16. "Alone Too Long" - Hall & Oates
    17. "Biggest Part of Me" – Ambrosia