wax Poetics

Joe Acheson of Hidden Orchestra: Archipelago Remixes Mixtape Pt. 2

Joe Acheson of Hidden Orchestra: Archipelago Remixes Mixtape Pt. 2

published online
By Wax Poetics

Joe Acheson of Hidden Orchestra drops new mixtape, <i>Archipelago Remixes Mixtape Part 2</i>

    Hidden Orchestra just dropped a new EP, Archipelago Remixes EP Part 2, on Tru Thoughts.

    In celebration, Hidden Orchestra multi-instrumentalist/composer/producer Joe Acheson has put together a new mixtape, Archipelago Remixes Mixtape Part 2, premiering here. Joe spans the globe and mixes together bits and pieces from the likes of DJ Shadow, the Beach Boys, the Fugees, Frank Sinatra, King Tubby, Fat Joe, David Holmes, and much more.



    Read more:


    This second part of Joe Acheson’s fifth mixtape in his annual series of @hiddenorchestra mixtapes celebrates the release of “Archipelago Remixes Part 2 EP”, released May 12th 2014 on Tru Thoughts Records.

    Buy the 2×10″ & digital direct from Tru Thoughts bit.ly/1lbXmyx

    Like Part 1 of the mixtape (Tru-thoughts – Archipelago-remixes-mixtape-1), it focuses on remixes both of and by Hidden Orchestra, and nearly all the tracks have been further remixed or mashed up by Joe.

    Like all of Joe’s mixtapes, there is a broad and multi-layered range of music and sound from around the world, from contemporary releases stretching back to the 1940’s and something from every decade in-between – including imagined collaborations such as Burial with vocals from Argentinian folk legend Mercedes Sosa, or Linton Kwesi Johnson reciting poetry over Tipper’s immaculately-produced beats.

    There is also a wealth of sound design and spoken word, taken from interviews with composers, radio programmes (many recorded by Joe), and poetry recitals.

    Other artists making appearances in this fast-paced mix include Four Tet, King Tubby, Frank Sinatra, Junip, Kidkanevil and Daisuke Tanabe, Squarepusher, The Four Tops, DJ Shadow, Floex, Finley Quaye, Clarinet Factory, Origamibiro and many more…

    The previous mixtapes in this series can be found on the following links –
    Footsteps Mixtape (2010) www.mixcloud.com/truthoughts/hidd…a-footsteps-mix/
    Night Walks on Vinyl Mixtape (2011) www.mixcloud.com/truthoughts/hidd…-walks-on-vinyl/
    Flight Mixtape (2012) www.mixcloud.com/truthoughts/hidd…-flight-mixtape/
    Archipelago Mixtape (2013) Tru-thoughts – Joe-acheson-hidden-orchestra
    Archipelago Remixes Mixtape Part 1 (2014) Tru-thoughts – Archipelago-remixes-mixtape-1

    00:00 "Blindness" (performed by John Rowe) – BBC Radio 3 drama produced by Matt Thompson
    00:01 "Disquiet (Floex Remix)" – Hidden Orchestra
    00:08 "Ceffylau" – Catrin Finch & Sekou Keita
    04:52 "Going Nowhere" – DJ Shadow
    05:02 "The Swineherd (read by Boris Karloff)" – Hans Christian Andersen
    05:17 "Spirit" – Dam Mantle
    05:34 "Nature Boy (with the Jeff Alexander Choir)" – Frank Sinatra
    07:04 "Bothan" – Alyth McCormack
    07:58 "Sleep Key (Hidden Orchestra Remix)" – Long Arm
    10:36 "Buckshot Dub" – King Tubby
    10:42 "Coronation Scot" – Vivian Ellis
    11:01 "Paul Temple and the Vandyke Affair" (performed by Marjorie Westbury and Peter Coke) – BBC Radio drama written by Francis Durbridge (1950)
    11:37 "Sweet & Bitter Taste" – Junip
    11:37 "Midnight in a Perfect World" – DJ Shadow
    12:00 "Rumble in the Jungle (acapella)" – Fugees
    12:26 "God Only Knows (acapella)" – The Beach Boys
    13:23 "1993" – DJ Signify
    13:47 "How Many Mics (acapella)" – Fugees
    13:50 "Blindness" (performed by John Rowe) – BBC Radio 3 drama produced by Matt Thompson
    14:28 "On The Record (acapella)" – Big Shug
    15:21 "Spoken (KRTS ‘Sprechen’ Remix)" – Hidden Orchestra
    15:32 "Flow Joe" – Fat Joe
    16:03 "Head Rush On Lafayette" – David Holmes
    16:17 "12 O’Clock" – Group Home
    17:06 "C.R.E.A.M. (acapella)" – Wu-Tang Clan
    18:35 "Ya Playin Yaself (acapella)" – Jeru The Damaja
    19:12 "Amberley Train Summer 1999" (field recording) – Joe Acheson
    19:33 "Last Train Home" – Kidkanevil and Daisuke Tanabe
    20:22 "Tundra" – Squarepusher
    24:18 "En Vagyok Az, Aki Nem Jo" – Csik Zenekar
    24:40 Bela Bartok (in interview with David LeVita) – WNYC’s ‘Ask the Composer’ series (July 2, 1944)
    25:59 "Storrington Waterfall Christmas Eve 2012" (field recording) – Joe Acheson
    27:00 "Fostercare" – Burial MR JAMES
    27:05 "Gracias a la Vida (live)" – Mercedes Sosa
    30:57 "African Deer Edit" – Lovers’ Rights
    31:28 "Blindness" (performed by Madeleine Worral, Peter Sproule, Anthony Howell) – BBC Radio 3 drama produced by Matt Thompson
    31:42 "Ask The Lonely (acapella)" – The Four Tops
    34:42 "Without You" – Junip
    34:42 "Antiphon" (drums only) – Hidden Orchestra
    36:17 "Midnight in a Perfect World" – DJ Shadow
    37:23 "PD 124" (PP drums) — Four Tet
    37:25 "Maverick A Strike" – Finley Quaye
    42:15 "5 Steps (Hidden Orchestra Remix)" – Clarinet Factory
    47:28 "Kalo Dié" – Koutaye-Neerman
    47:57 "Storrington Dawn Chorus May 2014" (field recording) – Joe Acheson
    48:28 "The Most Beautiful Sound in the World" – BBC Radio documentary produced by Matt Thompson
    50:50 "Saturnin Fire And The Restless Ocean" – Floex
    51:00 "Ancient Sorceries" (read by Philip Madoc) – Algernon Henry Blackwood
    53:36 "Saturnin Fire And The Restless Ocean (Hidden Orchestra Remix)" – Floex
    57:16 "OutsideInsideOut" – Tipper
    57:41 "If I Was A Tap Natch Poet" (live on Def Poetry Jam, introduced by Mos Def) – Linton Kwesi Johnson
    60:36 "Eternaldream" – Blossom
    62:39 "Spoken (submerse Remix)" – Hidden Orchestra
    65:02 "Quad Time (Low In The Sky Remix)" – Origamibiro
    65:22 "Hushed (beats-only version)" – Hidden Orchestra
    65:53 "Quad Time (Leafcutter John Remix)" – Origamibiro
    68:32 "The Most Beautiful Sound in the World" – BBC Radio documentary produced by Matt Thompson
    68:40 "Storrington Waterfall Christmas Eve 2012" (field recording) – Joe Acheson